20th Annual Student Film Festival

20th Annual Student Film Festival

7301 By

HofstraFestPoster2016-LR[2]The Lawrence Herbert School of Communications 20th Annual Student Film Festival will take place on Thursday, May 12 and Friday, May 13, at 7:00 PM in the Student Center Theater.  The Film Program will showcase the best student work in narrative, experimental and documentary genres completed during this past year.  The event is free of charge and open to the public.  An award ceremony and reception will follow the Friday screening.

The festival’s twenty-year milestone coincides with the Department of Radio, TV, Film being named to Variety magazine’s 2016 list of best schools for “training the film, TV and media icons of tomorrow.”   

This year’s judges include award-winning film director Gabriel Judet-Weinshel; SnagFilms executive and former Criterion Collection editorial director Shannon Attaway; and Zach Pugh-Sanford, a filmmaker and marketing manager at international film distributor Kino Lober, Inc.  

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 12.53.00 PM

The Student Film Festival is sponsored in part by Adobe, Entertainment Partners, B&H Photo, Adorama, Abel Cine, G-Technology, AVID Media, Final Draft and Sekonic.  The festival also receives support from the Hofstra Documentary Filmmakers Club.